Bottlehead Crack – “The Build”

I’ve been quiet for a while – sorry regular readers! But thanks for visiting while I’ve been away.

As a little reward, I have 4 awesome posts coming up in the coming days / weeks starting with this one…

The reason I’ve been absent is that I’ve been unwell. I’m making a full recovery, but have had some significant rest time. Of course, that’s meant lots of time to play with audio gear including the amazing new Tralucent Audio T1 portable amplifier and the Unique Melody Miracle custom IEMs which should be arriving any day now. I’ll have full reviews for you as soon as possible, but today it’s all about Crack!

I ordered the Crack amplifier kit from Bottlehead (www.bottlehead.com) quite some time ago. The Crack is under large demand and they are basically packaged and shipped to order which means you can wait up to nearly 8 weeks (in my experience) before you get your hands on your kit. It worked out well because I got it just in time for some relaxing soldering while I rested and recovered.

By the way, I have absolutely no experience building electronics circuits. I am handy with a soldering iron (from many years of car audio installation and tinkering with speakers and hi-fi wiring), but can assure you that this is a kit that an absolute beginner could manage by applying some care and attention. There are also some great videos on YouTube about soldering including Tyll Hertsens from Inner Fidelity’s video of building this same Crack amplifier.

To read the rest of this review, please head over to the new Passion for Sound site. It’s sexier and there’s lots of great new content.

 

2 comments on “Bottlehead Crack – “The Build”

  1. Pingback: Bottlehead Crack – The Review | Passion For Sound

  2. Pingback: Bottlehead S.E.X. – “The Build” | Passion For Sound

Leave a Reply

